Grove United Methodist Church has been "A Church Centered in the Cross" since its founding on December 13, 1874, when a group of 22 charter members met in the Norfolk and Western Depot in Radford, VA and organized the First Methodist Society.
The church grew in spirit and numbers and in 1886 a church was built on Grove Avenue and Second Street on a lot purchased by the women of the church for $150.00. In 1887, the church was dedicated as Grove Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church South. This building served the congregation for 25 years when the church appointed a committee to plan the building of a larger church and the church was on the move again.
The church history is full of stories of the sacrifices the congregation made for the new building including many unique fund raising efforts, such as the youth of the church selling lemon candy to passengers on the Norfolk and Western trains. And in October 1914, the church congregation "marched" from the old church to a new church building. In 1924, a Skinner pipe organ was installed and at one time, the Men's Bible Class boasted 300 members.
"A church on the move" marched again on April 7, 1975, as the members of Grove Avenue Methodist Church marched to a new church built on Tyler Avenue in Radford.
In 1997, Grove United Methodist Church grew again by adding an Altar Guild room, classrooms, music room, administrative offices, fellowship hall, a picnic pavilion, and recreation area, plus a beautiful memorial garden and columbarium.
Grove United Methodist moved bravely into the 21st century as a church grounded in Christ, our Wesleyan roots, and our commitment to be a community of believers who welcomes all... seeks to follow the example of Jesus Christ in our daily lives... and who is committed to worship, study, share our faith, fellowship, and applying our talents and gifts to serve God and others.